	Driver's Education (DE) Requirements for Driver License Under Age 18	Real ID	Require DE to Attain License When Aged 16-18?	Online DE allowed?	Requirements for Adults 18+ (DE, permit, supervised driving)
		Status			
<u>Alabama</u>	Pass an examination. The driver will be issued a license with a "Y" restriction. The holder will only be able to drive a motor vehicle with a licensed driver occupying the seat beside the driver.	STAR ID – Secure Trusted And Reliable ID	No		Written test Road test License Fee: \$36.25
<u>Alaska</u>	Earn Learner Permit. Hold permit for a minimum of 6 months, proof of 40 hours of driving experience & 10 hours of driving in challenging circumstances, and completed parental consent form. Instruction Permit: \$15 & Driver License: \$20	REAL-ID	No		Learner Permit Road Test License Fee: \$20
<u>Arizona</u>	Earn Learner Permit. Must hold Permit for six months. Provide proof of 30 hours of supervised driving practice and at least 10 hours at night. Permit: \$7, Age 16-39: \$25	Travel Driver License	No		Vision test Written test Road test License Fee: \$25
<u>Arkansas</u>	Intermediate License. The parents or guardians must assume fiscal responsibility.	REAL ID	No		Learner Permit Road Test Pricing is prorated
<u>California</u>	Certificate of Completion/Enrollment of Driver Education. Complete the application, parent/guardian sign the application. Have instruction permit for six months. Complete 50 hours of driving practice with 10 hours of nighttime driving.	REAL ID	Yes	Yes	Learner Permit: \$41 Road Test: Free, \$8 for a retest
<u>Colorado</u>	Take a Driving Knowledge (written) Test to be issued a permit. The tests may be taken at home or with an appointment. Hold permit for 12 months. Complete 50 hours of driving practice with 10 hours at night. Complete drive test with an approved driver education school.	REAL ID	Yes		Learner Permit: \$18.52 Road Test License Fee: \$30.87
<u>Connecticut</u>	Earn a Learner Permit. \$19 learners permit. Thirty hours of classroom training and 2 hours of parent training. Forty hours of driving practice. Pass the road test after 120+ days after holding the permit. \$40 testing fee (includes vision, knowledge, and road test).	REAL ID	Yes		Learner Permit: \$19 Pass the 8-hour Drug and Alcohol Safety Program (DASP) Road test: \$40
<u>Delaware</u>	Earn a Learner's Permit after passing a state-approved driver education class. Take a "Blue Certificate," parental consent and identification documents, pass an eye exam, and pay a \$40 application fee. Drive for 50 hours in a six-month period with at least 10 hours of nighttime training. After one year the permit would become a license if the driver does not receive any suspensions.	REAL ID	Yes		Learner Permit: Road test License Fee: \$40

	Driver's Education (DE) Requirements for	Real ID	Require DE to	Online	Requirements for Adults 18+ (DE, permit, supervised driving)
	Driver License Under Age 18	Status	Attain License When Aged 16-18?	DE allowed?	
<u>Florida</u>	Parental consent, Proof of completion of Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE). Pass hearing and vision tests. Pass the Class E Knowledge exam to obtain learner's License. Must have learner's License for 12 months. 50 hours of driving experience with 10 hours nighttime driving. Pass the Driving skills test.	REAL ID	Yes	Yes	Drug and Alcohol course Vision and hearing test Written exam: \$48 Road Test
<u>Georgia</u>	Earn Learner Permit. Pay a \$10 permit fee. Have a permit for at least one year and one day. No significant violations or suspensions. Complete Alcohol and Drug Program. Comply with "Joshua's Law" Certificate of Completion for Driving Training School. This will give minor a Class D license.	REAL ID	Yes	Yes	Road Test - \$32. Adults get upgraded to Class C license.
<u>Hawaii</u>	Earn Learner Permit. Hold permit for 180 days with no major violations or suspensions. Satisfactorily complete a State certified driver's education course. Successfully pass a road examination.	REAL ID	Yes		Learner Permit: \$10 Road Test: \$10
<u>Idaho</u>	Pass approved driver education class, the instructor provides parents with learners permit after completion of the class. Complete a supervised driving period to include 50 hours of supervised driving with 10 hours to be done at nighttime. Pass knowledge and road skills test.	STAR Card	Yes		Vision Test Written Exam: \$5 Skills Test: \$6.50 Pay the remaining skills test of \$28.50 to the tester.
<u>Illinois</u>	Earn Learner Permit. 50 hours of nighttime driving with 10 hours done at night. Enrolled in approved driver education course and pass vision and written test. No major sanctions or violations.	REAL ID	Yes		Vision Exam Written Exam - \$5 Road Test - \$30
<u>Indiana</u>	Probationary Driver License. Have an Indiana learners permit for 180 days. Log of supervised driving and proof of successful completion of a driver education course. Pass vision screening test and driving test.	REAL ID	Yes		21 Years of age or older for a non-probationary license. Learners Permit: \$9.00 License Fee: \$17.50
<u>lowa</u>	Intermediate License. Complete an Iowa-approved driver education course. Have had an instruction permit for one year with a clean driving record. May need a drive test if the driver's education instructor feels it is necessary.	REAL ID (Gold Star)	Yes		Vision Test Written Test Road Test License: \$4/year
<u>Kansas</u>	Earn Learner Permit (\$10). Have held permit for at least 1 year. 50 hours of recorded driving. Pass vision, written and drive test.	REAL ID	No		Vision Exam Written Exam Road Test: \$29
<u>Kentucky</u>	Earn Learner Permit (written and vision test). Must have permit for a minimum of 180 days. 60 hours of practice driving with 10 hours completed at night. After 180 days the driver may apply for an Intermediate License and take the driving skills test. Hold intermediate license for 180 days and	REAL ID	Yes	Yes	18-21 years of age must apply for an intermediate license. Go through the training program. Learner Permit: \$15.00 License Fee: \$21.50

	Driver's Education (DE) Requirements for Driver License Under Age 18	Real ID Status	Require DE to Attain License When Aged 16-18?	Online DE allowed?	Requirements for Adults 18+ (DE, permit, supervised driving)
	complete driver education course for a full unrestricted		when Aged 10-10?	alloweur	supervised driving)
<u>Louisiana</u>	license. Intermediate Driver License. Earn Learner Permit after completion of Driver Education. Have had permit for at least 180 days. 50 hours of drive time with fifteen of those hours done at nighttime. Pass road test.	REAL ID	Yes		First time driver license must complete driver education. Learner Permit Vision Test Written Test Road Test License Fee: \$32.25
Maine	Earn Learner Permit. Have the Learner Permit for at least 6 months. Complete approved driver education course. Complete 70 hours of practice driving and included must be 10 hours of nighttime driving. Complete a road test.	REAL ID	Yes		Age 18-20 complete driver education Age 21+ do not need driver education Vision test Written test Road test License Fee: \$35
<u>Maryland</u>	Provisional Driver License. Earn a Learner Permit. Complete 60 hours of driving practice. Ten of the 60 hours must be at night. Must have permit at least 9 months.	REAL ID	No		Age 18-24: Learner Permit Required for 3 months, 60 hours of drive time with 10 hours driving at night. Vision test Written test Road test Learner Permit: \$30 Driver License: \$9.00 (per year for under 21) License Fee: \$72 (Age 21 & over.
<u>Massachusetts</u>	Earn a Learner Permit. Hold Learner Permit for 6 months. Complete driver education course and complete 40 hours of supervised driving.	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test Written test: \$35 Road test License Fee: \$50
<u>Michigan</u>	Intermediate License. Have obtained a Level One Driver License. Must have held level one license for at least 90 days and attend driver education. Must have 30 hours of supervised driving.	REAL ID	Yes		Vehicle inspection test Written test Road test After passing written test, practice for at least 30 days to be eligible for the road test. License Fee: \$25

	Driver's Education (DE) Requirements for	Real ID	Require DE to	Online	Requirements for Adults
	Driver License Under Age 18	Status	Attain License	DE allowed?	18+ (DE, permit, supervised driving)
			When Aged 16-18?		
Minnesota	Earn Learner Permit. Successfully complete driver education	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test
	course. 40 hours of supervised driving with 15 hours being				Written test
	nighttime driving.				Road test
					License Fee: under 21: \$31.25
Mississippi	Earn Learner Permit. Pass vision and written exam. Hold	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test
	learner license for at least one year and apply for				Written test
	Intermediate License.				Road test
					License Fee: \$24
Missouri	Earn Learner Permit (\$7.00). Hold learner permit for 182	REAL ID	No		Vision test
	days and proof of 40 hours of driving with ten being at				Written test
	nighttime. Pass vision, written and road test.				Road test
					License Fee: \$26
Montana	Earn Learner Permit. Hold permit for six months. Complete	REAL ID	No		Vision test
	50 hours of supervised driving. Schedule Road test.				Written test
					Road test
					License Fee: \$62.32
Nebraska	Earn a Learners Permit. Complete approved state driver	REAL ID	No		Vision test
	safety course or complete a 50-hour certificate form with 10				Written test
	hours of nighttime driving. Complete vision, written and				Road test
	road test.				License Fee: \$29
Nevada	Earn a Learners Permit. Complete classroom driver	REAL ID	Yes	Yes	Vision test
<u></u>	education and 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience or				Written test
	complete an online course with 50 hours of behind-the-				Road test
	wheel. Ten hours must be nighttime driving. Hold permit for				License Fee: \$41.25
	six months. Take road test.				
New Hampshire	Youth Operator License. Pass vision and written exam.	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test
	License is valid until the user turns twenty-one. Driver				Written test
	Education for minors is required (30 hours). 40 hours of				Road test
	drive practice with ten done at night.				License Fee: \$50
New Jersey	Earn Learner Permit. Enroll in an approved behind-the-wheel	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test
	driver training course. Pass knowledge and vision test. Be 17				Written test
	years old and pass the road test.				Road test after 6 months of
					driving practice, 3 months if over
					twenty-one
					License Fee: \$24
New Mexico	Earn a Learner Permit. Complete state-approved course,	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test
INEW IVIENCO	pass written and vision test. Hold permit for at least 6				Written test
	months. Complete 50 hours of supervised driving with 10				Road test
	hours of nighttime driving. Pass road test.				License Fee: \$18
	5 5				, -

	Driver's Education (DE) Requirements for	Real ID	Require DE to	Online	Requirements for Adults
	Driver License Under Age 18	Status	Attain License	DE	18+ (DE, permit,
			When Aged 16-18?	allowed?	supervised driving)
<u>New York</u>	Earn a Learner Permit. Complete driver education. Pass a vision and written test. Hold permit for six months. Have 50 hours of supervised driving with 15 hours done at nighttime.	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test Written test Pre-Licensing Course Road test License Fee: \$102.50, highest amount presented pricing varies
					based on age.
<u>North Carolina</u>	Receive a Driving Eligibility Certificate and a Driver's Education Certificate from an approved driver education course. Earn a limited learner permit. Hold permit for 12 months & pass road test. Complete 12 hours of driving.	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test Written test Road sign recognition test Road test License Fee: \$5.50 per year
<u>North Dakota</u>	Earn Learner Permit. Complete road test. Unrestricted license will be given once road test is complete.	REAL ID	No		Written test - \$5 Road test - \$5 License Fee: N/A
<u>Ohio</u>	Earn a Learner Permit. Complete Driver Education Program which includes 24 hours of classroom and 8 hours of driving time. Complete 50 hours total of driving with at least 10 hours of night driving. Must have permit for at least 6 months.	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test Written test Road test License Fee: \$25.75
<u>Oklahoma</u>	Earn a Learner Permit. Hold permit for six months. At least 50 hours of driving practice with 10 hours coming from nighttime.	REAL ID	No		Vision test Written test Road test License Fee: \$42.50
<u>Oregon</u>	Earn a Learners Permit. Hold permit for at least six months. Driver must have at least one hundred hours of supervised driving experience. Vision, Written and Road test must be passed.	REAL ID	No		Vision test Written test Road test License Fee: \$60
<u>Pennsylvania</u>	Earn a Learners Permit. Permit exams include physical, vision and written tests. Hold permit for at least six months. 65 hours of adult supervised driving practice with 10 hours of nighttime driving. Nighttime driving begins at 11:00 pm.	REAL ID	No		Physical test Vision test Written test Road test License Fee: \$41.50
<u>Puerto Rico</u>	Earn a Learners Permit. Complete road test. Unrestricted license will be given once road test is complete.	REAL ID	No		Vision test Written test Road test License Fee
Rhode Island	Earn a Learners Permit. Complete 33 hours driver education course certified by the Community College of Rhode Island.	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test Written test Road test

	Driver's Education (DE) Requirements for	Real ID	Require DE to	Online	Requirements for Adults 18+ (DE, permit, supervised driving)
	Driver License Under Age 18	Status	Attain License When Aged 16-18?	DE allowed?	
	Hold permit for at least six months and complete fifty of				License Fee: \$39.50
	driving with 10 hours of nighttime driving. Pass a road test.				
South Carolina	Earn a Learners Permit. Complete driver's education course	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test
<u>South carolina</u>	(8 hours in the classroom and six hours driving). 40 hours of				Written test
	driving with 10 hours of nighttime driving.				Road test
					License Fee: \$25
South Dakota	Earn a Learners Permit. Hold permit for six months.	REAL ID	No		Vision test
<u>South Dakota</u>	Minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving with 10 hours of				Written test
	nighttime driving. Vision, written and road test.				Road test
	5 5 7				License Fee: \$28
Tennessee	Earn a Learners Permit. Hold permit for at least 180 days. 50	REAL ID	No		Vision test
Termessee	hours of supervised driving with 10 hours of nighttime		-		Written test
	driving. Pass vision, written and road test.				Road test
					License Fee: \$28
Toyac	Complete Texas Driver Education Certificate. Pass vision	REAL ID	Yes	Yes	Impact Texas Driver
<u>Texas</u>	exam. Have learner license for 6 months. 30 hours of driving				6 Hour Adult Driver Education
	practice with 10 hours of nighttime driving. Complete Impact				Vision test
	Texas Teen Driver Program within 90 days of Road test.				Written test
	<i>o</i> , <i>i</i> ,				Road test
					License Fee: \$33
Utah	Earn a Learner Permit. Hold permit for six months. Complete	REAL ID	Yes		Driver education
otan	driver education. Complete online Traffic Safety and Trends				Vision test
	Exam and pass with 100%. 40 hours of supervised driving				Written test
	with 10 hours of nighttime driving. Pass vision, written, and				Road test
	road test.				License Fee: \$52
Vermont	Earn a Learners Permit by passing a vision and written test.	REAL ID	No		Vision test
vermont	Hold permit for at least one year to apply for a Junior				Written test
	Operator License. Complete 40 hours of supervised driving				Road test
	with 10 hours of nighttime driving. Pass road test.				License Fee: \$51
Washington	Earn a Learners Permit. Complete approved driver training	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test
washington	course. Complete 40 hours of daylight and 10 hours of night				Written test
	driving. Pass the road test				Road test
	-				License Fee: \$80
West Virginia	Earn a Learners Permit. Pass vision and written exam.	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test
west virginia	Complete Driver Education. Hold permit for at least 180				Written test
	days.50 hours of supervised driving with ten nighttime				Road test
	hours. Pass road test				License Fee:
Wisconsin	Enroll in Driver Education. Pass Written and signs test. Apply	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test
VVISCOTISTI	for permit. Pass road test.				Written test
	,				Sign test

	Driver's Education (DE) Requirements for	Real ID	Require DE to	Online	Requirements for Adults
	Driver License Under Age 18	Status	Attain License	DE	18+ (DE, permit,
			When Aged 16-18?	allowed?	supervised driving)
					Road test License Fee: \$34
Wyoming	Earn a Learners Permit by passing a vision and written test. 50 hours of supervised driving time including ten nighttime hours. Complete driver education for Driver License.	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test Written test Road test License Fee: \$45
<u>District of</u> <u>Colombia</u>	Earn a Learners Permit by passing a vision and written exam. Hold permit for 12 months. Nighttime driving for at least 10 hours.	REAL ID	Yes		Vision test Written test Road test License Fee: \$47